Balasting track - before or after the track is layed?

Couldnt find alot of good info on google so im gonna ask here. After I lay my roadbed, should I ballast it before, or after I lay the track down?

after you lay the track spread balast between the ties and form it on the sides i dont even think you can before ?

I agree... after you lay the track. Never having done it before I'm just beginning to experiment with ballasting...

I finely screened some dirt from the back yard, and just for practice took a piece of track, applied some left over reddish brown wood stain to the outside rails to look rusty, siliconed the track onto a scrap of wood and applied the dirt ballast...

IMG_3832.png

IMG_3833.jpg

IMG_3834.png

IMG_3835.jpg

IMG_3840.png

What do you think?;)

Last edited by a moderator:
My readings in the forums I frequent for the past five years, where this question arises about three or four times each year, suggests to me that the hobby is almost perfectly split between the two options.

If you ask me, I do it last because I like the ballast to look like it was added after the Big Guy built the terrain. However, ballast on seldom-used track would have multiple incursions of vegetation, so if you do the ballast last, you would have to go back in some places and add some tufts or sage, or whatever plant would try to encroach onto the ballast shoulders.

A well-used main track will have its ballast nicely groomed and generally in good condition, and the vegetation would be strictly held back from the ballast and the edge of the roadbed by several feet. They would use herbicides in some places where water table contamination or stream and fishery contamination is not a problem, or they would use mechanical strippers, even steam.

-Crandell