What's your Best custom locomotive?

Guilford Guy9887

Northeast Railfan
Its amazing to see how much talent there is on this forum. now, I'd like to see everyone's best. Whats you best custom locomotive?

I'll start. I'm relatively new to model trains but i love customizing locomotives. heres my athearn sd-40 that im turning into an sd-39 and i painted it to look like the guilford MEC 693. im currently working on making the 100 BM slug

These two one of a kinds<
picture.php

picture.php

I've made about 5 so far & all of the pics have been on this forum, but, the best is yet to come. I've just started building special engines in the past year or so & am really enjoying it. My layout has paid for it though. I spend a lot more time in my workshop & less on scenery & the little things that need to be done. The winter months tend to slow down being in that cold train room, but, the weatherman says it's going to warm up this week. LOL

OK, you asked for it. Here's one I built this year. A UM30/C645. It's a kitbashed Atlas U30C with parts from an Athearn SD40 and a Bachmann GP50 to make something that is truly one of a kind. The roof mounted air tanks were scratchbuilt as were the air lines. The cab came from a trainset quality Bachmann U33B. Obviously details were added.

P6051470.jpg

DSCN1422.jpg

DSCN1430.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Tough question.
Its either any of the 3 RMDT's (Road Slugs) I've built
40resized.jpg

Any of the 11 (soon to be 14) Maryland Midland units
300%20modified.jpg

or that perennial crowd favorite
the FU-2
FU2_resized.jpg

Really, I don't know what my favorite is, I guess they all are!:D

I like that FU-2. I used to have a loco similar to that. It was an EMD F7 cab grafted to a GP40 body. I tossed it out years ago. I've been thinking about making another one.

I like that FU-2. I used to have a loco similar to that. It was an EMD F7 cab grafted to a GP40 body. I tossed it out years ago. I've been thinking about making another one.