on average, how many $$$ do you spend

each year on your trains?

I know it will vary, but what's the range? (I haven't even been to a train store yet, so have NO idea of what anything costs.)

you don't even WANT to know what I spend on the horses each year, I have a feeling the train thing won't be nearly as expensive. (lets hope not. I can't afford TWO expensive hobbies, even though the horses are how I make my living).

just ballpark it.

Despite what I say to myself and to others, and despite my best wishes, self-chastisement, and real needs, I manage to spend near $1000/annum on the hobby. Rolling stock runs me about $150 typically, engines run me about $600-700 typically (this is per annum), and odds 'n sods the rest.

We haven't talked about the costs of layout construction...wanna go there?

-Crandell

It depends year by year but on average I spend around $1000 - $4000 a year depending what comes out that I like, Most of its on freight cars and I get a lot of my stuff directly from a distributor so I pay 40% - 55% off retail which means I can get twice as much then if I shopped at a hobby shop. Luckily I do a lot of Electronic work and DCC installs which keep the hobby money coming as if I didnt do that then I couldnt afford everything I get.

Are you doing a survey for a company of somekind? Just asking.

Well its a state secret, so can't tell you! And I don't know what's the exchange rate from Yen to Euro. So...:p
What I can say is this: It's never the same. Too many factors come into play. Take for example
a "big ticket item". These are usually a "one time" purchase, so that's gonna skew your finding.
Collectors can spend a lot and may not have a layout or any tracks whatsoever. And if you live
in a remote, or isolated location, shipping can be 2-3-5-10 times the amount of the "item". How would you classify that?

Last edited by a moderator:
I can't afford TWO expensive hobbies,