Front Headlight Always ON

cajon

A post on another forum brought up the question of why have the rear headlight come on just because the locomotive, consist and/or train is backing up. This is really just a model RRing thing and not done in the real RR world. And in the real world doesn't the front headlight always have to be on as a warning of your presence to opposing traffic? That was my experience as a RR conductor for 7 years and as a railfan watching switching before and since. My system is NCE and haven't been able to figure out how to have the front headlight on all the time. My DCC locos are Athearn. Atlas, BLI and P2K. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you
Now Bellflower CA!

Last edited by a moderator:
When I was an engineer 28 years ago, the headlight always had to be on the way the engine was traveling. When we were switching both headlights were on dim all the time. We always used dim because a bright headlight would blind other engines in the yard. If you should hit someone that would be conductor, brakeman, passerby etc. at the hearing their going to ask you if the headlight was on. This doesn’t mean every engineer will compile with this. I seen hundreds rules broken while I was there that resulted in accidents, which was one of the reasons I left. Too many people didn’t comply with the rules and sooner or later their going to get you in trouble.

George