Anyone else take long breaks in building?

adurbin

Im new to model railroading, just started last year. I came out of the gate flying wanting to get everything done at once, get the layout built, and run trains. I quickly realized that this is not a hobby that one can rush, and be able to appreciate the results. Anyway, it seems like as soon as summer time hit, the MR thing went on the back burner. I look at it everyday downstairs as it is in my entertainment room with big screen, blu ray and xbox, and want to pick up where I left off, only to find myself preoccupied with something else. Anyone else have this issue?

I go through cycles ... sometimes I am able to and only want to focus on my trains, other times I focus on other hobbies, like you. All things in moderation, right? :D

Aaron, I've been playing with trains for 31 years now. The longest break I took was 5 years. But I always come back to it. ;)

When you get my age & in Retirement it seems like there is not enough time to accomplish all that I want to do. I try to work on 2 or 3 projects at the same time, so, I don't get bored. It's to damn hot to work in the trainroom after 9am, so, I always make sure I've got a project to keep up my interest in my A/C controlled workshop.
I've got 3 major projects to do on the layout now, but w/the heat can't start on them till it cools down a little. Probably about Nov. If I didn't have this huge layout to work on I would go NUTS. I get bored real easy & when that lasts to long I start looking for a job.