Uh Oh, another Newbie!

DjShaggy

Hi. I'm a newb and I will have many questions to ask over the next little while.

A bit about why I'm here: Since I was young, I always enjoyed model railroading, but it was only recently that I have found the time and cash flow to begin working on my first serious, 'permanent' layout. I have a few good ideas and some older HO stuff, but I think I might be thinking beyond my ability and experience.

Hopefully, through the wonder of the intertron, I can find some answers and make some new friends too!

Alrighty, on with the first question: Metal vs. Plastic wheels. which is your choice?

Welcome, I'm new here as well. All of my wheels are plastic, though not by choice. Most people prefer metal wheels for many reasons. One is that they seem to keep the track cleaner. Don't ask me how this is possible. They also typically roll better. I'm sure that more experienced modelers will chime in. Enjoy your modeling.

Wahhzzzup! (Welcome) Metal.

I'm going to let the explanation go for others while I tackle another issue you might not know you have. Running old stuff from your past is like taking your grandfather's B&W console TV and working your tail off to make it connect with your 5.1 surround system. It sounds like you can save some money, but you waste a lot of effort trying to make it go and end up with the plasma anyway.

The stuff today is just that much better. Forget the idea and put that sentimental stuff on the shelf where you can enjoy it. If you try to make it work,you will end up making choices that may compromise the enjoyment your layout. Put simply, you go down a path that you would not have taken had you not tried to make the old stuff work. I'm not talking about parts, but you may try make use of a modern UP diesel when in reality you would much rather model old steam in New England.