turnout wiring problems

guyt

I'm new to model railroading and I'm trying to wire up a small layout I have put together. I have a shinohara 126-E and 127-E right and left turnouts. When I wire everything and try to run an engine to test it the power only works when the turnout is engaged. When I switch it the other way the power no longer works. Can anybody help?

I believe that's the way the shinohara turnouts are designed. I think it's called power routing.

The problem with that is the track goes cold when the switch is turned. It doesn't route the power it just stops providing power. Am I missing something?

EDIT sorry I missed the part number: I'm not sure about the older code100 Shino's. Maybe someone on this forum that has them can help or you can quickly call Walthers. Another option would be for you to run jumpers around/under to the track.;) Send Cjcrescent a PM. he has a lot of experience with them.

Just a Note:The Code 83 Walthers Shino's (DCC Friendly) are not power routing and should have power to all rails regardless of positioning. They have metal jumpers underneath that are spot welded to the rails. Sometimes, these spots break loose and interrupt the power. A meter checking continuity will quickly varify.
The only two things you can do with them is to flip them over; trim the plastic near the spot; carefully resolder OR you can run a jumper wire and solder to the rails. Nope, it will not look perfect, but you will be able to use it and a little weathering and covering up willhelp its looks. If they are brand new, call Walthers and explain; they will send you new ones free of charge.

Last edited by a moderator:
Shinohara turnouts