Scanners for Railfanning

UP2CSX

Fleeing from Al
I haven't seen this talked about too much here so I was wondering how many of you modelers who were also railfans use a radio scanner when you're out chasing trains? I've used one since back in the days of crystal scanners and I've had some catches I wouldn't have had if I didn't have the radio with me. Of course, being an old cop, I'm used to constant radio chatter, which might drive some people nuts (including my wife :))

I have a Radio Shack Pro-97 combined witha Valor PM3B mag mount antenna for the car. The Pro-97 has great sensitivity in the railroad band. A big advantage is that ability to text tag each frequency so you know what you're listening to when it stops on a transmission. It's on sale now in stores for $150. The newer version is the Pro-164, which has some extra bells and whistles and goes for $220 but goes on sale regularly for $200. It's also been very useful to have a scanner with weather alert for those times you're out in the midlle of nowhere and wonder what's in that big black cloud approaching. :) I was just wondering how many people have scanners and use them regualarly for listening to the railroads.

i have a radio shack scanner that my fiance gave me 3 years ago. its a triple trunking one which i have no idea what it does. I have like 20 frequencies plugged in and use maybe 4. I can't even put it on scan after i cleaned out all the garbage frequencies. says all channels locked out.

i also bought a magnet antena for the truck. But this thing is a p.o.s. It wont screw to the base, constanty falls of if something taps it. I bought a window mount antenna that is longer and atleast wont fall over if it gets hit. I have yet to even install it.