Newbie questions!

Psapple83

Hey everyone, I am brand new to all of this. Wanting to get into model railroading for myself, but also for the future of doing this type of stuff with my son. That said, I don't want to just buy anything just to have it, I really want to do it right.

As I look around, I see things like the EZ track or other integrated roadbed tracks. These seem cheap and trashy to me. I am nervous that if I do end up buying a set with ez track, I am stuck with EZ track if I want to expand?

In addition to this, I am unclear of how to tell if a loco is DC or DCC as you are purchasing it, and does this affect the type of track I buy?
I am thinking of starting off with something like http://www.bachmanntrains.com/home-usa/products.php?act=viewProd&productId=3661
and bypassing the track it comes with altogether. Does this mean I would have to completely buy a new controller as well- if I were to, lets say, buy some atlas track?

Ideally, the way I'd like to spend my money is initially most of my money would be spent on the actual setup (track, landscape, etc.) and have a cheaper loco to run on it, text, etc. and once I am to a point where I like where things are going with my first track setup then I would buy a more expensive loco.

Thoughts? Ideas? I am brand new, open to any advice and excited to get into it, but I'm also a planner and want to do it right.
To my knowledge there are no hobby stores (other than hobby lobby) in my area. Sheboygan, WI.

Thanks!

Hi, and welcome to the world's greatest hobby.

EZ-Track, Unitrack, and others are NOT cheap. They are good enough products, but also much more costly than flextrack. So, not only are they well made and reasonably durable, with perhaps the exception of EZ-Track turnouts (in my now dated experience, they may have changed for the better), but they really ain't cheap...they cost a lot more per unit length or appliance than comparable items from Atlas, Peco, etc.