Newbie question on DCC

OgreMike

hello everyone. OgreMike here. I am a newbie, but I have been interested in model railroading for over 50 years. I’m finally making my first attempt to build a model railroad. I’m building the Atlas plan HO 36. It’s the Oregon Pass Lines. But instead of doing the old traditional, DC type of hook up, I would like to do DCC. The Atlas website suggests a very simple (and I suspect not good) DCC suggested hook up for that layout using Atlas Connectors. I’ve been reading up on DCC the last couple of days and it appears that today’s technology offers a world of betterment over the old traditional single and double throw toggle switches. Anyway, I’m getting into it and the first question I’d like to ask for anybody to answer is, are power districts, equivalent to the old blocks, essentially, in DC wiring? And, when setting up a power district (block) do I need to isolate BOTH rails from any adjoining power districts? In reading the literature, it appears that using the old common rail that DC likes to use is a bad thing to do. So there’s my first question. Thanks for answering! OgreMike

Holey molely, that is a lot of layout for a beginner!
Yes, a power district should isolate both rails at each end of district.

Reversing loops also isolate both rails.
Turnout is a separate district

I'd start out with a tiny section of the layout.
Good luck.

Holey molely, that is a lot of layout for a beginner!
Yes, a power district should isolate both rails at each end of district.

Reversing loops also isolate both rails.
Turnout is a separate district

I'd start out with a tiny section of the layout.
Good luck.