Helix Rail Grinder

Icheymon

New Guy
I had posted a couple of photos of this train in another thread and was asked to post a bit more detailed info. I did not want to hi-jack the thread with explanations...so here we go. I built this train sort of on a whim after seeing a LORAM grinder in action locally and finding photos on the internet. I liked how the Pandrol Jackson Grinders had some resemblance to a regular train unlike the LORAM units that looked like they were assembled by a drunken modeler. I realize in the real world function over form but the PJ trains looked good and I felt I could model them a bit easier. If you are a rivet counter you will not like this as I am an average modeler with average skills. And seeing how I am somewhat cheap I tried to build this without spending a fortune.

100_2884a.png

100_2885a.png

100_2886a.png

100_2887a.png

Locomotive HRGX 101- This is a Walthers Trainline model I bought at a train show for $20. I added an extended platform on the front similar to the ones seen on the Pandrol Jackson / Harsco units. I added a hose reel under the front of the platform and made two deck guns out of paperclips. I added a front entry door and relocated the headlight. Plumbing was ran up the rear, across the top and down to the two deck guns and the remote monitor beside the head light. I added an air conditioner unit and relocated the horns.

100_2889a.png

Slug HRGX 126- I bought a beat up Model Power ALCO at a train show for a dollar and built this slug out of it. The trucks are old metal side frame Athearn’s from a GP 9 that also became a slug. I realize the rail grinders in use now don’t have slugs but I found a photo of an old orange Pandrol Jackson unit and figured I needed one also. It has a dynamic brake on it as it was originally destined to work coal trains and I thought it looked cool so I left it on.

100_2890a.png