Best Manufacturer?

Lecithin

I am sure this question is almost entirely opinionated but it begs to be asked either way. I am looking to buy some rolling stock for my layout and I am wondering which manufacturer(s) I should look towards. I am looking to get some open and covered hoppers. Probably 40' but I may mix some 50' in there as well. Any opinions (and a backed up explanation) are greatly appreciated!

On a side note, metal wheels vs plastic wheels. Is there a huge difference, I'm leaning towards metal but I've no experience or knowledge to back up my hunch.

You are right that this is very much a personal preference, but it is usually based on one's experience with the model. I have had very good luck with Atlas, Athern, Branchline, Bachmann Silver series. Now, the big question is how much do you want to spend on rolling stock.

Some brands are very expensive and have very good to excellent detail, but as the price goes down...usually the detail does as well. Another consideration is if it has metal wheels...does it have knuckle couplers (most do)...will you want to add detail...do I want a "Ready to Run" or a kit. All of this determines the price. One thing that I finally learned that you can take a moderately priced piece ($8 - $12) and with the addition of metal wheels and a little tweaking here and there have a car that will give you good service. It just depends on how detailed you want.

Yes, metal wheels is the best way to go. Some plastic wheels have a tendency to deteriate and leave a residue on the track over time. This was backed up by a thread in another forum where the poster had a link to a site that had data to prove it. Also, metal wheels will wear better and IMHO run smoother and easier. They are louder, but heck...this is a train.