Best DCC Sound Board?

DieselDave

I am returning to the hobby after a long hiatus and even before I didn’t dabble with DCC. I just bought an Atlas HO Classic GP-7 for my new layout. It is DCC ready with a fake 8-pin plug so I’m looking at what would the a top sound decoder to install/plug-in-play. Also something that is dual control DCC and DC?

Most all DCC decoders are dual capable, DCC and DC.
Tsunami decoders seem to be the most loaded with options that you can program with just a throttle and a programming track.
ESU decoders would require a LokProgrammer to access their full decoder programming.
Aside from those two, there are numerous other brands of decoders. TCS is a full featured decoder but in my experience, they seem to be kinda fickle.
I have limited experience with the Digitrax sound decoders but decades of experience with the basic non-sound DH series.
I also built decoders from the package kits that NCE offered back in the early 90s. A pile of circuit boards, bags of chips, diodes, resisters, caps and wires and a detailed set of instructions with test points.

The most popular are probably ESU sound decoders, but a Ken already posted you'll need a Lokprogrammer to access all its features.
Tsunami (Soundtraxx) would be my next suggestion, here's a link to the Soundtraxx decoder selector which you may find of interest.