Bachmann HO 3 Truck Shay Bevel gears again

tbdbitl

Hello -

I have a Bachmann 3 truck shay with the well documented bevel gear problems. The gears on mine have failed over the last year or so; the posts on this are anywhere from 4 to 10 years old. Obviously, I have done better than many with mine. I have tracked down several of the solutions, but they seem to leave more issues.

1. Replacement trucks from Bachmann - no longer available from Bachmann.
2. Replcement sideframes from Bachmann - also no longer available.
3. Replacement bevel gears - metal ones are available from NWSL. OK - I've been modeling for 40 years - I should be able to handle these.

So I ordered a set of these. The instructions started out good - very detailed, with lots of pictures to help explain what is going on. They get an A+ on the parts but there is a flaw in that the gears must be press fit onto the existing shaft - I believe the size is 3mm. The instructions treat this rather off handed - they suggest pressing the gears on but don't have any suggestions on how to accomplish this in a reasonable manner - but then they do say these parts are not for a beginner. As I said I have been model railroading for 40 years, and have done a fair amount of craftsman modeling, handlaid track and switches, so I don't think of myself as a beginner. (Pride goeth before the fall....)