tooter goes big time...

I was thinking those tracks looked abandoned....LOL

They actually look like some of the tracks I've seen of troop transport trains from WWII. Some of the tracks had grass right up to and through them.

I actually like that look... :) and the push cart rolls right through the weeds.

The grass will be removed when the rails are dug down to ground level, but it will grow right back again. I'm going for the old fashioned narrow gauge look with no raised roadbad or gravel ballast...

senoiatracks.jpg

The ties will be totally below grade so that all you'll see will be just the rails.

Keep us posted on your drivetrain tests! I'm no scientist but I think you're going to need a mighty strong spring to keep that cog from slipping, as it doesn't have the large meshing surface area that a bicycle drivetrain does.

Hey Jay, :)

It already works with the heavy weight of the racheting sprocket and the 1/4 thick steel arms. The force isn't anywhere close to that of a bicycle where you can stomp down on the cranks with the whole weight of your body. On the the pull cart, you're just pulling horizontally with your arms. I'm still going to put a spring on the arm to keep the sprocket from coming off the chain when it's coasting. Because the pull handle sprocket is the only freewheeling cog, the chain is always in motion as long as the cart is moving.

I had an extra truck so I made it into a little scooter and have been playing around with trying to ride it as a rail skateboard, but it doesn't work. You can't correct your vector to stay balanced on it because it's running on rails.

But it does work as a RAIL LUGE... :)

IMG_5650.jpg

IMG_5651.jpg

IMG_5655.jpg

With the extremely low center of gravity you can rip around the curves! Woohoo! :p

Last edited by a moderator:
Looking Good!
Where's the anticlimbers, you know... in case you need them.
So when are we going to see a Tooter Trestle???

Hey Rico, :)

What's an anticlimber? Can you post a pic of one?