Wiring undertable switches....how to question

Heya, I am new to the hobby. What is the best way to wire an undertable switch? Where does it get its power? I have seen terminal connectors, do they get their power from these? I have the EZ Command Bachmann DCC controller if that matters. Also could these switches be controlled by the Bachmann controller? Thanks!

If you're just getting started, you would do well to get yourself Kalmbach's "How to Wire Your Model Railroad". It'll guide you through the somewhat complicated (to a beginner) jungle of correctly wiring your layout. Newer editions should cover DCC wiring as well. It's a good buy, and can save you many hair-pulling sessions....

I'm glad I went modular. Wiring is pretty simple when one does it 4' at a time. Gets monotonous, but I'm not losing my hair because of the headaches. All wire SHOULD be color coded when you install. Makes life MUCH simpler in the future. Just take my word for it.

Bob

The color code part is a MUST...As I found out about half-way through my wiring...:confused:
Also, check your work after EVERY connection you make, if it works, go on to the next one. If it doesn't, you know where you screwed up. Much easier to fix than having to pin down a problem after a bunch of connections have been made....

With my modular layout I have mini-plugs at each end of every module(plug and play, plug and play), again color coded(don't want to hook up 110v to the rails, do we?). Pull a module, replace it, match the colored plugs and we're running on a different layout......... Well, sort of.

You should have "feeders" every 4-6 feet IMO to keep the trains rolling. Don't expect rail connectors to feed the next rail if using Flex-Track. And each of my switches are wired, all 62 of 'em. And I've placed "flags", little tape ID/circuit numbers/markers, purchased at an electrical supply house, on every wire. Make sure you solder the "feeders" to the outside of the rail!!!!

Bob