Weather attempt 1

MLW

I took sometime today to weathered two Boxcars. I’m no pro by any means, but I would like your opinion anyways. The first one sports the “dusted” look and the second the “filthy” look. I use a paintbrush and a rag.

Thx

200671201848_BOX1.jpg

20067120191_BOX2.jpg

I took the pictures outside (backyard) on my home-made “display shelf”
:D

I think they look darn good. Maybe you could add some ballast dust down low for effect, but then again, I'm no weathering expert either. ;)

I will add this, your modeling is some of the best I've seen. I really enjoy the pics.

MLW,you got a couple of great looking cars there. What did you use for weathering materials?, Thinned washes of paint,or pastels,or both? You did a great job.William.

MLW, I think the best compliment I can give you is they look very close to prototypes sitting on a real siding. ;) :)
Good idea with the outdoor display track.

Nice work on both cars. They both have a distinct look about them and it's not overdone. If I may make one suggestion, and it's really a very difficult thing to do, try to keep the weathering from collecting around the ladders and grab irons.

Remember, on the prototype, grabs and ladders don't really create much of an impediment at all for the grime to wash downward. Most of the time the dirt will simply pass between the carbody and the grab iron on its way toward the ground. However, on our models, these grabs are usually depicted as "shelves" attached to the "wall" of the carbody. This causes them to inhibit the flow of your weathering medium and makes the grime collect around them. Even separately molded or applied grabs are difficult to work around, but the model should be weathered as if they aren't there. Solve that problem and the second model becomes incredibly realistic.

Keep up the good work and post some more for everyone to gawk at!