Walthers "Trainline" RTR?

PARKINGLOT

Canadian Railfan
anyone have any experiance with the "Trainline" RTR stuff from Walthers? I'm just thinking of picking up one as something to use until I have my layout's benchwork laid. Are they worth the $40 bucks? or should I just keep browsing ebay for some cheap motive power?

anyone have any experiance with the "Trainline" RTR stuff from Walthers? I'm just thinking of picking up one as something to use until I have my layout's benchwork laid. Are they worth the $40 bucks? or should I just keep browsing ebay for some cheap motive power?

I have 4 Trainline engines that I have been running for about 4 years. They have plenty of power, run smooth & are quiet.

Larry

Walthers RTR are good engines for the price. They are not that detailed and the paint is sometimes heavy, but they run and pull very well. I've got 3 F40PH's that I put decoders in, including one with sound. I'm very happy with how they run.

They are Walther's competitor to the Atlas Trainman line, just to confuse things further. They are a good deal for the money beacause you are getting the P2K line chassis and motor inexpensively because the shell doesn't have the intricate detail of the more expensive engine. They run fine and you can either leave them as is or do what we all used to do in the old days - buy detail parts and detail it yourself. Everyone should have the pleasure of trying to get 8 grab irons evenly spaced and straight. :)

Jim, I'd think thats the opposite way around. Walthers had Trainline LONG before Atlas had Trainman, not that it matters much.

I dunno where you're getting the P2K chassis in Trainline from, unless its a new thing I missed, my GP15-1 was out before P2K was much of anything, and long before atlas did the Silver/Gold, much less the Trainman line.

However, enough with the frivolous details. I love my GP15-1, its the only RTR on the market, though you an get a Smokey Valley one. It runs sweet and looks great.

Cn Trailine