Trainline GP9's

d_sinsley

Hello,

I just bought two trainline GP9's. I bought them because they are about the only low hood versions I can find. I needed the low hoods for my prototype. Anyway, how hard are they going to be to convert to DCC. I have never done it before but it doesn't sound to tuff. I just wonder if anyone has had any experience with these units. Also, will the Proto 2000 running gear fit under the trainline shell. I plan to detail the shells out to make them look as good as possible. I just haven't heard much good about the trainline locos.

The motors are already isolated from the frame so it's just a matter of clipping wires and soldering them to the decoder. Beware that the wires are most likely not color coded so you may have to adjust CVs for direction of travel and remap the lights.

DCC helps the running of those a lot, they start smoother and run nicer at slow than on straight DC. Otherwise they weren't that bad chassis wise, the body detail wasn't as good as stuff out there now.

trainline

I am glad to hear that they will run nicer on DCC. I have no experience with DCC. I haven't had a layout since I was 13 and now I am 40. I am slowley building up the stuff neccesary for building one. Getting rolling stock, locos and buildings and such.

Detailing the bodys is high on my list. I like that as much or more than building the layouts. This is proto type specific so thats the choice for the low hood version. I am also building 25 custom log flats. There is no kit that even comes close so highly modified 40' flats are the starting point. High detail on the locos will make them sharp when I am done.

Did they have dynamic brakes? I ask because I purchased a Trainline a while ago with the intent of making it a GP10 for the ICG. I didn't realize at the time that the IC didn't do dynamics on the Paducahbuilts (or on the original GP7s and GP9s). I haven't decided if I will do some reconstructive work or just paint it up for a fictional shortline.