Rockdale HO Layout

rodnok1

Rockdale Layout:
Let me first introduce myself. I'm a model railroader from way back and have been out of it for quite awhile. I'm a good carpenter, better mechanic, with a long computer hardware and software background. What I cannot buy, I make or modify. I have a varied and vast array of tools at my disposal(except for Mill and CNC machines dang it) I have had to purchase small variations of tools since I have found full size tools make life harder than ness with these small items. Layout is in a 40x60 pole barn and will be hung from the ceiling when completed.
Our HO scale layout is freelanced with the first section of layout based loosely on Berkshire Division from 6 HO Layouts you can build. It will be modernish time frame, one part I may go to steam era. I build it years ago close to plans with zero budget and then dismantled and sold everything. My kid is getting interested so we started picking up some parts and pieces in the last year. Started just running round n round on 4x8 sheet of plywood to get his interest started, simple layout with brass track and junky locos I picked up for almost nothing. A few plasticville buildings and some vehicles, nothing special. Started looking at plans/software other layouts etc to get ideas. Figured out I wanted to do it based on the nearest small town for buildings and industry. Layout is what is pleasing to me, inner circle basically for just running around, don't care that much for switching operations myself. The software that was free I found terribly cumbersome and not the giving results I hoped for and that's coming from a software guy. So I bought a lot of track and switches on Ebay(all brass and dirt cheap) strickly to use as layout guides and went to town laying it out. I built mock up building from cardboard and figured out bascially what I wanted and from what angles I wanted viewing points.