Merchants Row Series

brubakes

What are your thoughts on the Merchants Row series of structors from Walthers?

I'm thinking about getting I, II, and III as the 1st for my new layout. I'm a newbie so I hope they arn't too difficult to build and detail.

They are not difficult to build but not easy. There are a lot of different angles to get right and the directions aren't the best. The real challenge is painting. Each one of the kits is one big structure with different store fronts. You have to be really good at painting to get all the details right and make it look like they are different store fronts. This is a pictue of my Merchants Row 1 kit:

MerchantsRow2Medium.jpg

I would guess I spent three hours building the kit and at least 10 hours painting and detailing it. They turn out to be nice structures but it will be a challenge if you have no experience painting and detailing structure kits. I would check out the Woodland Scenics line of built-up commercial structures. They are more money than the Merchants Row kits but the workmanship and detail is superb and you just set them in place. All depends on what you want most - the challenge of building and detailing a complex kit or just getting some nice looking buildings for they layout.

The other thing to think about is that 80% of model railroads at least have one of the Merchant's row series...doesn't say much for originality.

I think you'd get a more interesting build out of some of walther's Gold line buildings, like their General Store, Post Road Pet Supply, and Wally's Warehouse.

I like them we have 2 of the merchant rows and they look really good and are very nice models. I would reccamend them.

They look like really nice structures to me, but I've built most of my downtown out of DPM kits since I like the idividuality of them.