Layout Underway At Last

fcwilt

Hi,

After years of thinking about building a layout I finally have the time, the space and the resources to build a layout.

I am just getting started with the framing. I was a programmer before I retired so naturally I am going to incorporate computer control. This means a lot of wiring so I am starting with upper level, leaving the lower storage level for later.

My limited space combined with my wish list results in what you see in the attached 3D rendering.

The layout is a plain folded dog bone with the loops over top of one another. The tracks connecting the loops will be treated as a double track main line. The loops will be wired as return loops which keeps things simple.

I am just starting to construct the helix - waiting on some materials - but the framing is all done.

There is a shot of where the helix will go - sitting on the lower level.

There is also a shot of the upper level over the helix. This area will be cutout in the area where the helix will be leaving just enough surface around the perimeter for the return loop on this level.

There will be a second level 4" inches up over this level where the other return loop resides.

There are a handful of industries, plus the freight yard and the passenger station which should allow for enough operations to keep things interesting.

For display purposes the storage yard and the computer will allow lots of action to entertain the visitors, most of which will just want to "see the trains run".

Now my goal is to live long enough to get it finished!

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/t3o4lkeoue9ng6t/AAAlZ4JTTGalAUYaI9fi0O20a?dl=0

Last edited by a moderator:
That hardest thing was giving up on a number of things I had dreamed of, things like the floor to ceiling scenery on John Allen's G&D.