layout room lighting

OldTrail

High Tech Recycler
as most of you are aware, I am preparing my basement for my 18 by 28 N scale layout. I was going to use a combination of 2 by 4 lay in flourecent troffer lights and incandecant track lighting for layout lighting. However, it has come to my attention the DAMAGING effect of the flourecent lights, which will be on most of the time, except during opp sessions.

As an EX electrical contractor i should be able to answer these questions my self, but I've been "out of the loop" for a while. SO:

1) are there sleeves for the flourecent tubes that block the UV rays?

2) I might use recessed can lights, but am afraid that until i install enough of them to well light the room, and the track lighting that the low ceiling may appear "cluttered" and distracting from the layout.

3) how do YOU guys light your train room?

4) i can't use a vallance as the ceiling is allready too low less than 6'8" finished

As always your input is appreciated

Ryan

Ryan, I know that Walmart uses sleeves on all their fluorescent tubes to block out UV's, so, I'm sure you could get some at Home Depot or your favorite builder. I don't use them on my layout because the lites are real high in my 14ft. tall building. I used a shade over the front of my lites many years ago on a low ceiling that stopped all the glare from reaching the people standing at the front of the layout tables. All I used was a piece of dark plastic that covered the bulb in the front. The fixtures were all 2 bulbs ea.

Larry

We have track lighting that we got from Menards on sale. It is really nice because you can change where the lighting is and it allows for you to control the distribution on light very nicely. Also, you are able to dim them so you can get different times fo the day. Plus you can add more bulbs if you want to anywhere in the track.
TrackLighting.png