Layout design software/programs?

FlyFishn

I am new to high-tech (can I call it that?) model railroading. A lot of the terminology is new to me. What I am curious about is software that will assist in layout design. I am not looking for predefined layouts, or combinations of predefined segments/modules added together. I have a lot of CAD experience (AutoCAD, FeatureCAM, Inventor, and my current software is TurboCAD). I may just use TurboCAD for what I am after but if there is an easier method with some more purpose-built/user-friendly model railroad application software that may be easier for me.

I want to be able to use some room dimensions to come up with a "floor plan" of the table/desk layout design, then experiment with track positioning/features. I am more interested in the shape and layout of the track, as opposed to structures and town/industry build up as right now I want to focus my efforts towards learning DCC control -not of the locomotives alone, but of accessories and track sectioning/occupancy, maybe signaling, etc.

Edit - if it makes much difference, I am going to work with N scale first. I have a lot of HO gear and O27/Lionel, but I can't set much of that up as I don't have space right now. I think I can make N work. Maybe if I can design some modules that would be best at first - that way it is an expandable layout, and can be dismantled/moved.

Last edited by a moderator:
I used Scarm to design my layout, worked well ..
Cost is free, and the author is responsive to questions...

Take a look at AnyRail. It designs all scales, and has track libraries created very exactingly from various manufacturers' products. Extremely easy to use, but has a lot of powerful design features. The illustrations on the site emphasize a lot of the building/scenery features, but honestly I've found those to be the least compelling aspect of the software. Give it a look at https://www.anyrail.com/index_en.html