Just Another New Guy in the Decision Process

Hello everyone. I am very new to everything and have yet to start anything, except the research and reading. I have been doing quite a bit of that over the last several months. The YouTube tutorials on so many different aspects have been very helpful, as well as different forums such as this. I did join the Model Railroader Forum a while ago, but couldn't stay very long. A lot of good people over there, but the lag time with having posts show up just got to me. I hope it is not like that over here. I am used to forums where the post goes up right away and very often one can get responded to very quickly. I like that. Sometimes you need quick answers to allow you to move forward.

Anyway, I have been learning a lot about minimum turn radius, grade, DCC system, benchwork, scenery, track planning and just about everything. I do have a dedicated room to use, but it is a small bedroom and not very large. I have worked out the best use of that space which equates to a peninsula coming off the center of one wall with narrower shelf extensions running along the rest of the existing walls available to use. I believe there is about 60 square ft of possible benchwork. If I go N scale, which was my first original choice, I could do a decently sized layout and have come up with a base track plan that I like. My other option though is what I am leaning towards now, HOn3. I have recently discovered the Blackstone models and have been really impressed by them and the layouts designed for them. I feel my room is too small for HO, but HOn3 is doable, being a step between N scale and HO. I have a nice track plan for that as well.