HO Flex Track

frolf_king

Train Roll on
Newbie here....:confused:

1st question...I bought some HO flex tack and am trying to connect it to some existing Atlas track that I have. What type of connectors do I need to accomplish this? I tried several ways the other night and was only able to connect them on a straight line. When you curve the track one rail shortens and you are unable to use regular track connectors to join the existing track. The flex track is supposed to have a minimum of 18" radius but I don't see how it will connect.

2nd question... Some of the track that I am using is very old. My mom found my old HO train set in their attic and I am trying to fix it up for my nephew for Christmas. I bought some new track to add with it and the train will run fine on the new track but stops on the old. I cleaned it up with alcohol the other night and the train runs better but still slows down on the old track. What can I use to clean it up or should I just buy all new track. This track has been in that attic for every bit of 25 years.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

If you start with a straight section and expect the flex to make a curve you will pull out the rail from the joiner. (same joiner as sectional track). The easiest thing to do is to solder the flex to the straignt section, make the bend, then clip off the flex so it is even on the end.

Take some 400-600 grit sand paper and sand the rail heads until they are shiny. Try it again. You need to restore both the top and the inside of the rail head as contact is made by the wheels in both places.

Ok, I see now. I was going to cut the track but was unsure if it was necessary. So join the two tracks with a connector and solder the connector to the outside of the rail, right? Is there any certain type of solder I should use?

Ok thanks I will get some sand paper today.

Do they make a crimper for the track connectors? I tried to use needle nose pliers but I trashed several of them.