Guns Stolen From Boxcar in Atlanta

Airslide

The Flange Squeal
this happened in the yard where i normally do a lot of railfanning. needless to say ill be steering clear for a while.

http://abcnews.go.com/US/wireStory/report-100-rifles-stolen-train-car-17844589

however, there seem to be a few holes in the story so far.

1. Tilford is a bulk freight classification yard, its always pretty busy, and the CSX Police hQ is on site.
2. The average joe cannot just open a boxcar door - even with tools, i think it requires some training or know how to open a boxcar door...inside job perhaps like the taking of Pelham 1-2-3
3. boxcars are typically used to haul bulk freight or raw materials, not finished goods, not since the introduction and wide use of intermodal. cant imagine why "guns" would even be in a boxcar.
4. other than runaround or bypass, i have never seen intermodals parked in tilford and i have been railfanning there since about 1995.

seems pretty strange but i guess the investigation is still ongoing so further details are being withheld..

Say Airslide,
It was interesting to hear what you said about the fact their were special tools required to open a box car, intended as a safety precaution, I'm sure.

That being the case as well as Tilford yard being as busy as you say it is I would assume that unless this particular box car was parked at an out of the way spot it would be very hard for anyone to break in and steal 100 rifles. It sure does seem like an inside job to me too.

Of course there is another possibility, suppose that down the line prior to getting to Tilford the box car was comprised and the rifles stolen but only reported once the car reached Tilford!?

Interesting situation.

To the average joe a container is a boxcar, or a box on a rail car.
I would think if there were rifles being transported it wouldn't be an entire car or container of them, so they must have had to dig for them.
The inside job theory certainly fits here.

I agree.