Decoder Functions

Trucklover

BNSF SD70MAC's
Im looking to put together a list of TCS decoders for all my engines i have. my question is how many functions should i get? Do i need 4 and 6 function decoders? If so do i have to buy the decoder and the harness? TCS doesnt sell them together with the 4 and 6 function decoders.... What does the harness do?

As you can tell, im completely new to DCC lol

the locos i have are from Athearn (both RTR and Genesis), Atlas (Silver Series) and KATO. Should i get regular, 4 or 6 function decoders for these?

thanks in advance

the harness is for locomotives with plug and play. If your locomotive is not plug and play, then you don't need the harness (regular decoders come with wires for you to solder in)

Functions are only needed if you want to add extra lights or effects. 2 functions is enough if you want directional headlights (one front, one rear)

The more functions you have, the more versatility. With more functions, you can add ditch lights, marker lights, independant number board lights, cab interior lights, etc.

the harness is for locomotives with plug and play. If your locomotive is not plug and play, then you don't need the harness (regular decoders come with wires for you to solder in)

Functions are only needed if you want to add extra lights or effects. 2 functions is enough if you want directional headlights (one front, one rear)

The more functions you have, the more versatility. With more functions, you can add ditch lights, marker lights, independant number board lights, cab interior lights, etc.

Thanks for the reply and the explanation :D Im eventually going to want to add extra things in my engines, so i might as well just stick a 4 or 6 function decoder in all of them just in case lol

Now for the engines, I found a list: http://www.tcsdcc.com/HO_Search/search.html