code 100...a mistake?

wongsing

Hey everyone...

because I'm new at this, I'm gonna be posting alot in the near future so please bear with me, LOL! My layout is 4x8 and because it started as an Athearn trainset it has Bachmann ez-track for the mainline....well, so far. Now because I'm not rich by any means, yet I still want to have a great looking layout, did I make a mistake by buying a trainset that included that type of track? From what I have noticed, there is not alot of selection in the way of code 100 track, and that becomes seemingly less when referring to ez-track! So my question, well the main one anyways, is should I continue to plan on using the track I already have to finish the rest of the layout, or should I just replace all of the ez-track sections and 2 switches. If I am going to have future problems using this brand/type of track in the future, please let me know. Already I have bought 2 switches (ez-track) and they both derail two of the cars I have for some reason that I cannot figure out... (and yes, just by looking at one of them they seem out of gauge!!!!:mad: ) I appreciate the help and if anyone thinks that this layout would be more beneficial and economical to switch to code 83 over code 100 please let me know! Any info on this or anything else above mentioned would be great! Thanks guys!

-Rich

I wish I could help you. I've always used code 100 Atlas flex & Atlas switches.
I have some of the ez-track & it would never work for me because of not enough flexability. I have to have big curves & U can't get that w/eztrack. As far as your derailment in a switch, you might check the track gauge w/a NMRA gauge & also check the wheels on your engine & cars to see if the gauge is correct before you make any big changes. For a beginner layout the eztrack would probably be ok & you can always add to it w/flex track.
I hope I helped just a little bit.

Larry