another new guy!

twytch38

Hey guys! I've been lurking around here for a week or so. I broke out my O gauge lionel set for Christmas this year and the bug bit. I think I'm going to switch to HO for space, and because my girlfriend thinks they're "cute" so I'll have her blessing! My problem is I'm in the Air Force so I move fairly regularly. I haven' found many portable layouts as of yet. I think I'm going to keep it to a 4x8 or smaller if possible. I want something that is continuous running, and will be using fast tracks to make all my switches as that is what interests me. Scenery plays a VERY minor part as the one thing I'm really good at is electronics, as I'm an electrician on C-17s. I know I've kinda rambled on here quite a bit, but I just wanted you to know my background. Any help you guys can give me in designing a layout would be greatly appreciated. I just downloaded xtrkcad and am doing the tutorial as we speak. Thanks for the help in advance!

Ted

Hello, Ted, and welcome aboard. I guess you lucked out working on C-17's instead of F-15's or you'd be a little too busy for model railroading right now. :)

Most folks in your situation go for something like a 2x8 switching layout. It's really almost impossible to move something as large as a 4x8 and not break half the stuff on it. Take a look at the plans for shelf layout at http://www.thortrains.net/poorhoh.html. These are just examples of what you can do in a small space. If you plan it right, you can integrate that small shelf layout into a larger space when you get some place permanent. You also won't invest a huge amount of money and then find out that you (or your girlfriend) don't like model railroading all that much.

I really like the idea of the switching yard, but I'd also like to be able to just let it run while I do other things. I think I'll actually have more fun laying the track and painting the engines and doing all the electronics than anything else!