Airport?

Hello all! I love flying (Im a private pilot) as much as I love railfanning and model trains, so in a discussion with my better half one night as we were working on our current layout brought me to start to build an airport! Ill post some pics when I get it closer to done, but as of now its going to be 2'x8', with a LED lighted runway and custom built hangar, control tower, and airport facility. Just wondered what you guys think, and if anyone else has done an airport post some pics!

As I remember there's a layout somewhere in Germany where the planes actually "take off." I haven't seen many other airport rigs though. Looking forward to what you come up with. :)

Great idea but I doubt many have the space/real estate that even a small private airfield would take up, apart from maybe those that have an entire basement for their railroad...

Now this I'm looking forward to! Model Railroader had a layout in it maybe two years ago that had a small airfield on it. There was a discussion about building an airport on their forum a while back. One poster felt it was a waste since it would generate no loads for the RR. I guess he didn't realize that that's not the only reason some people model things on their layouts.

There was a discussion about building an airport on their forum a while back. One poster felt it was a waste since it would generate no loads for the RR.

Most airfields require fuel! lol..

Not to mention spare parts, the odd fuselage etc that may be too big to be shipped all the way by road!?! Tyres.. The list could go on & on, depends on how many workshop hangers there are (or are assumed there are)...

There is a long series of videos about the airport at Miniatur Wunderland. Go to Youtube and search for "Gerrits tagebuch".