Wire for an F7 A and B unit (rails, irons)

frog

I am painting a Athearn F7a and b unit in the Atlantic Coast Line Black and Yellow color. I have done a few freight cars and a couple of cabooses but this is my first attempt at a loco. Besides being a fan of the old ACL the paint design is quite less complex than some.

The side grills I have hand painted a couple of coats of grey, 1 part paint with 4 parts thinner. They look pretty good, better than leaving them completely black.

I plan on using .015 inch wire for the rails at the doors and the steps aft; I think this is the correct size? In using plain wire the base flanges would be absent of course but at least the rails would be there, better than nothing I would think.

As to the wire, I found a boundless supply from an old wire brush lying around, so with that I want to go futher and install grab irons on the front right side of the a unit, 5 I think, plus other locations if I am able.

From pics I see wire (I'll call it that) above the windshield, a couple in front on the sides of the panel, possibly other places as well. My source for this are pics of F7 units on google, some show more than others.

Would correct spacing for grab iron mounting holes be .20 inches? The best guess I can do by measuring the molded ones on boxcars I have.

A bit of a trick in forming the grab irons so they are bent downward but I think I can do this. Otherwise they are going to look more like staples that are just stuck into the shell.

As for securing, I plan to drill the holes all the way through and apply super glue from the inside of the shell. Is this recommended?

Thank you for you input and any advice on maybe a better way.

BLMA, (or is it BMLA), has come out with a drilling template for HO-scale EMD & GE locomotives. On the same template they have IIRC, 18, 20 22, 24, 28 & 30" holes. It also has the correct spacing for all.

You merely tape it to the side of the model into the correct position and drill away!