Wire coils loads, NEED HELP

TLOC

Help Needed
2A039D2C-A6B9-4484-9D2C-A4F35F60FFA2.jpeg

See the wire coils on this car? I want to build these as detail parts to use on my layout as loads.

I am way overthinking this.

I have the bulk head cars, I know how to create the hold downs and strapping.

When I worked in the wire forming business all coils were delivered by truck but the coils were wrapped around a stand. 1/2” and 3/8” wire were standard for us and approximately 150,000# a day were used in a 2 shift day.

I truly don’t remember a whole lot of the math from my intern days on the order desk at Central Steel and Wire. So that’s no help to me. The charts online for CS&W don’t indicate the shipping measurements or the weight per coil.

In HO scale what wire do I use for 1/8, 3/8 and for 1/2”. There are 50 coils on that bulkhead flat in the picture banded together in pairs. The inside, wall to wall of my bulkhead car is 62’. I am not good at figuring things out from a photo but I think those coils are 46” wide based on the math.

I am thinking of a winding tool for the coils.

Has anybody made their own? Do you have pictures? Ideas please as I want to use real wire, thread, fishing line or something else that looks like coiled wire. I have seen the unavailable Chooch casted coils and they didn’t look good to my eye. A 3-d print of a coil might work but I’d be totally lost going in that direction.

I promise these loads are for my personal use and I will not sell them if the group can help me out.

Hoping you see what I am missing

You might try a corrugated culvert as a winding base--it should help keep the wire alignment. Failing that, maybe silver painted drinking straws.

Definitely power wind, or you will go mad. :D

As to size? 1/2" is 3.5mm/24*, and an American Guage wire-size chart should convert that answer to wire size.

[* in HO, it's 3.5mm per foot. There are also 24 "1/2" inches per foot, so 3.5mm/24]