Way to get best finish?

Tankengine389

So working on my hornby Thomas, I've managed to get the parts from south eastern finecast on it and now trying figure out the best way to get a really smooth finish on the putty and model filler so it wouldn't have any cracks or bumps on it. (I please don't just say sanding. For I have been and I'm not THAT dumb in that department.)
IMG_0762.jpg

So working on my hornby Thomas, I've managed to get the parts from south eastern finecast on it and now trying figure out the best way to get a really smooth finish on the putty and model filler so it wouldn't have any cracks or bumps on it. (I please don't just say sanding. For I have been and I'm not THAT dumb in that department.)View attachment 164378
I would pick up an acrylic based filler (AK Interactive Putty - I've been using this for a few years, its the best I've used) as these can been smoothed with a wet brush after applying. Use a flexible sanding stick (as used for nails) to sand smooth, follow up with wet and dry used wet in a circular motion and when satisfied, spray a primer over it.

When dry sand that back lightly with wet and dry, again used wet. This will highlight and high/low spots that will need more sanding, or filling and sanding.

Keep repeating until you are happy with it. There is no quick fix for it unfortunately

I would pick up an acrylic based filler (AK Interactive Putty - I've been using this for a few years, its the best I've used) as these can been smoothed with a wet brush after applying. Use a flexible sanding stick (as used for nails) to sand smooth, follow up with wet and dry used wet in a circular motion and when satisfied, spray a primer over it.

When dry sand that back lightly with wet and dry, again used wet. This will highlight and high/low spots that will need more sanding, or filling and sanding.

Keep repeating until you are happy with it. There is no quick fix for it unfortunately