Use of flex track, please help !

csxfan

I just got some flex track and am fighting to fit not a tight curve but one rail, the loose, always sticks out. Is that normal ? Do I have to cut it off to fit the other connecting rail ? This is my first time I'm "working", more like fighting with Atlas flex track. Can somebody tell me what to do and how ? I even got a bit desperate and think of getting some Atlas 24" radius curves, the largest available of Code 100, but definitely need a larger radius. Any tips, please. Thanks.

I just got some flex track and am fighting to fit not a tight curve but one rail, the loose, always sticks out. Is that normal ? Do I have to cut it off to fit the other connecting rail ? This is my first time I'm "working", more like fighting with Atlas flex track. Can somebody tell me what to do and how ? I even got a bit desperate and think of getting some Atlas 24" radius curves, the largest available of Code 100, but definitely need a larger radius. Any tips, please. Thanks.

Yes, it's normal for the rail to stick out. It's basic geometry. The inner rail is a smaller radius than the outside rail. A given length applied to a smaller radius will create a greater arc length than the larger radius. This is why cars have differentials.

The proper method for joining flextrack on a curve is to let the last 2" or so of the track 'hang' straight. Trim off any extra length from the loose rail and solder on a new stick of track. Then continue laying the track through the curve as normal.

The simple answer is: Yes, you have to trim the longer rail. The trick is to be careful that the join (both rails) to the next track is smooth, not a kink.

Here's another question: If you need a longer length of flex track.....to go around a curve......longer than a single section......should you solder two sections of flex together while holding them straight?....with the special flex mating tool that is normally used?....then bend them around the curve?