Upgrade path for NCE

I just purchased the 2 amp power cab system. If i have correctly understood what info i have managed to find at this point, the command station is the upgrade for this? Also, does the command station make this into the next higher system that has all of the bells and whistles? I'm just getting started in model rr and have alot to learn. Also bought a Athearn Genesis GP 15 with the Tsunami decoder. Haven't recieved either item yet.

I just purchased the 2 amp power cab system. If i have correctly understood what info i have managed to find at this point, the command station is the upgrade for this? Also, does the command station make this into the next higher system that has all of the bells and whistles? I'm just getting started in model rr and have alot to learn. Also bought a Athearn Genesis GP 15 with the Tsunami decoder. Haven't recieved either item yet.

Oh, an NCE power cab and Athearn Genisis GP 15 with tsunami! That's starting out in style.

There is a defined upgrade path and an alternative I could suggest, but first you need to decribe some operating parameters to determine what you really need.

How many locos will you run simutaniously?

How many people will operate the layout at any one time?

The basic NCE system is quite advanced for a basic system. You can add a second cab to that system. The cab can be either another power cab or one of the engineer throttles. The main limitation with this system is the power avaliable. Sound locos draw more miliAmps (mA) than non-sound locos. I think a rule of thumb of 1 amp per sound loco will ensure you have plenty of power avalible. Thus the basic power cab is fine if you run two locos (seperately or consisted). This will do for a small layout.