To double deck or not to double deck? That is the question.

Caagui01

Christian
Hey guys, my name’s Christian and I’m new to the whole model railroad gig and I want to get started with my first layout in my garage.
I’ve worked for NS here in my town as a conductor for a while and while I enjoyed the job the lifestyle was so bad. We were constantly being called right off of our rest at 10 hours and working 12’s everyday. It took a toll on me, my family, and my relationship. My terminal in particular has been seemingly unable to dig itself out of a hole and guys have been bailing with 10-20 years seniority. Multiple higher ups have come and gone and we’ve had multiple superintendents in the 6 short months I’ve worked there. I found an opportunity that would offer me similar financial compensation I had at the railroad while still being able to fully maintain my life. So I took it. I often reminisce about the railroad because it was a truly unique experience, but it wasn’t the right lifestyle for me.

Anywho, I feel like getting into model railroading would satisfy my interests. I don’t really have a hobby so finding something to occupy my time and that I enjoy would be ideal. The area I’m working with is 19’x10’. I think I’ve decided to go with N scale just so I can fit more of what I want into the space I have and have modern loco’s and rolling stock. I’m having trouble with the bench work and if a 2 deck layout would practical. I don’t want it to just look pretty but I’d like to run some operations on it as well. I know that I want something more point to point and not a loop. Here’s a rough idea I came up with.
D1629C04-9218-4025-A2E6-7206A7CACE0F.jpeg