Scratch built freight house

brad.p

Lost between ATSF & BNSF
I am new to the whole scratchbuilding scene and have, with lots of advice and some help from a very good friend, been working on this HO Scale freight house which measures 60 x 80 ft. The original inspiration came from a picture in an old Model Railroader magazine, but the building design has undergone many changes as it has progressed.

The whole structure is scratchbuilt using 0.5 and 1mm styrene sheeting and some Evergreen angle and square rod. It is still not completed, but I will post some pics as it goes along. The wall sections were built out of sheet 1mm sheet styrene with 1mm strips of 0.5mm styrene stuck on to resemble board and batten.

Last edited by a moderator:
A few days later, after some further fiddling, the freight house was starting to look good. Here the platform and balcony have been added as a temporary measure to see how it will look.

A few days later and the freight house is really starting to get character. The detail under the loading dock and the roof over the office entrance are all shown in these pics.

Coming along nicely , I know that it takes alot of time to produce something like that. Patience with ourselves is important.

Very nice building and excellent work for never having done this before. Do you know what you're going to use for roofing yet? Campbell's wood shingles would be my choice.

Very nice brad. The detail under the loading dock is great. I look forward to seeing it finished.

As a fellow scratchbuilder/kitbasher, I can appreciate the work you've put into that. It's a masterpiece! Did you use a NWSL "chopper" to mass-produce the angle braces under the loading dock?

Thanks for all the comments and suggestions - I have really enjoyed building this structure so far and will definitely be tackling some others in the future.