Santa Fe 3500.

Hi everyone.
Today I went down to Hobby town in Omaha and bought me a New Bachmann HO Scale Santa Fe GP40 Locomotive. AT&SF 3500. Here are two photos of my new Engine. This is my first time ever owning one of these units. Blue Bonnet.

SantaFe3500002.png

SantaFe3500001.png

Last edited by a moderator:
Nice looking model but time to get out the decals. The Santa Fe only owned one GP-40, #2964 (earlier #3461) and that was destroyed in a wreck in Pico Rivera Ca in 1988. Here's a picture:

Atchison%20Topeka%20&%20Santa%20Fe%20ATSF%

I don't know why manufacturers can't get road numbers right, especially since there was only one of these and the Santa Fe never had a diesel numbered 3500.

Nice looking model but time to get out the decals. The Santa Fe only owned one GP-40, #2964 (earlier #3461) and that was destroyed in a wreck in Pico Rivera Ca in 1988. Here's a picture:

Atchison%20Topeka%20&%20Santa%20Fe%20ATSF%

I don't know why manufacturers can't get road numbers right, especially since there was only one of these and the Santa Fe never had a diesel numbered 3500.

Maybe Bachmann just lumped all the 40 series locos together. ATSF had a few between the GP40, GP40-2, GP40x, etc.

Maybe Bachmann just lumped all the 40 series locos together. ATSF had a few between the GP40, GP40-2, GP40x, etc.
One GP40, & 10 GP40X's thats it.

Bachmann was not concerned about historical accuracies.

One GP40, & 10 GP40X's thats it.

Bachmann was not concerned about historical accuracies.

True, but you'd think, when a railroad only had one engine of the type being produced, a two minute internet search would have produced the right number. It's certainly no harder to print 2964 than 3500. :(

Was just playing with my LIFE-LIKE Santa Fe, #3500 (which I've had for years) when I came across this site. I noticed the anomaly concerning the what I deem to be make no..

I decided I'm going to repaint the side with #2964 in order to keep things accurate.