Re-gauge Trucks - want/need info?

Sirfoldalot

Days Gone Bye!
Staff member
Good Day All,
I have a dilemma here. I have maybe 20 pair of these trucks that I bought on a closeout from the hobby shop I used to frequent. They are good rolling On3 metal trucks. I am wondering if anyone can tell me who made them and if, IYO, they can be re-gauged for HO track.

I am determined to build a small On30 layout (even if it is only a shelf) and have quite a bit of scratch built On3 cars which, with some slight mods, work very nice for On30. Then I will be able to run also what few HO locomotives I have like the little diesel-electric that I recently purchased. Opinions - anyone?

nm log 3.jpg
nm log 6.jpg

I'm no expert on either of those scales Sherrel, but you had me wondering what the difference was between On30 and On3 as far as the track gauge/wheel spacing was. Now I know. Your On3 is wider gauge but both are O scale. To use your On3 trucks on HO track without having to change trucks as well, I would think you'll need to find HO wheelsets with axle lengths to match your On3 ones, so if you can measure the axles accurately, maybe have a look at the Reboxx wheelsets for a match. Here's ModelTrainstuff's pages for that brand http://www.modeltrainstuff.com/HO-S...Y&sort=3&cat=1452&show=30&page=1&brand=Reboxx

An additional thought, looking at your pic of the underside the sideframes of the truck to the left appear to have been bent outwards, exposing quite a bit of the axle. I'm not sure how you get on with removing/replacing wheels on metal trucks as their not flexible like plastic ones, so take care. Maybe someone else can enlighten.

Toot .. That is a good idea .. I will take one out and measure the axial length and wheel diameter. A good friend uses Reboxx all the time - says they are the best. I assembled these things 30+ years ago and I remember that they were in three pieces. I just cannot remember how I "stuck" them together. Will take a closer look tonight.