PanPastel Weathering

I am new to the world of Model Railroad weathering. I am interested in using PanPastels to weather, but I was wondering what are the pros and cons of using PanPastels. Is there anything I need to know before using them? Any tips and tricks? Thank you.

you could check u-tube lots of how to videos there. if pastels are like chalk if you make a mistake or don't like how it came out you can just wipe it off and try again.

I like Pan Pastels for weathering since like daves68 mentioned, if you make a mistake then just wipe or wash off the Pastels. In some cases I use the Pastels without sealing with Dullcote. I use both brushes and make-up applicators to apply the Pastels.

When applying the Pastels, if at first the like too heavy, use a brush to move the powder around. I like a soft large make-up brush for this work.
You can purchase the Pan Pastels in single containers or in groups of colors. I like the earth tones kit.

Have fun weathering.

Greg

I like Pan Pastels for weathering since like daves68 mentioned, if you make a mistake then just wipe or wash off the Pastels. In some cases I use the Pastels without sealing with Dullcote. I use both brushes and make-up applicators to apply the Pastels.

When applying the Pastels, if at first the like too heavy, use a brush to move the powder around. I like a soft large make-up brush for this work.
You can purchase the Pan Pastels in single containers or in groups of colors. I like the earth tones kit.

Have fun weathering.

Greg
Thank you very muich for the reply.

you could check u-tube lots of how to videos there. if pastels are like chalk if you make a mistake or don't like how it came out you can just wipe it off and try again.
I have checked several YouTube videos on PanPastel weathering, but none that I saw really told me the benefits/ drawbacks of using them. Thanks for the reply.

Bragden powders are a bit oily powders and much better to use since it sticks better