No More BLI Locomotives

D&J RailRoad

Professor of HO
I'm tired of the p poor quality of their stuff. This is the third loco in a row that didn't work correctly.
SW7 w/Paragon4 decoder.
Intermittent operations.
Sometimes it runs, other times it won't respond at all.

Im having the same problem with an atlas. Im not familiar with BLI.

Is the decoder a circuit board that is held in place by small notches in the frame that also doubles as the power pick up for the board? If so, this could be the same problem i have with my Atlas N scale. I think my problem is age related wear. It ran perfect 10 years ago. Oxidation or electrolysis that loosened the chips fit to to the frame is resulting in a poor power supply to the board. Unless someone posts a different solution in my recent post, im going to hard wire the decoder board to the frame as there is an intermittent connection in mine. This took me awhile to narrow down.
Ticked ne off as I work on cars for a living. Intermittent electrical issues find there way to me often and can usually be made visible by means of a simple voltage drop test. Harder to do this on objects that move.

Ken, you'll probably need to take the trucks apart and clean the part where the pickup shoe contacts the wheels. That area gets all the oil and crud.

This is a brand-new locomotive with all the original packing, right out of the box. Paragon4. Shouldn't be crud in there.
BLI (Broadway Limited) mounts their boards quite differently than Atlas does.

This is a brand-new locomotive with all the original packing, right out of the box. Paragon4. Shouldn't be crud in there.
BLI (Broadway Limited) mounts their boards quite differently than Atlas does.