Need help with simple turnout layout

jackstrat

This is a great forum and as a total novice I am learning a lot, at least model railroading terms if nothing else.

I am planning a simple layout for the grandkids using Atlas HO true-track components.

However, I am having difficulty with part of the layout. I have a 22" radius oval with two remote turnouts (Atlas 480 and 481). What Atlas components do I need to complete the radius between the two turnouts (circled in my attachment layout)? I'm not sure which radius should be used and have tried plugging in the 18" (Atlas 460) and 22" (Atlas 463) radius track pieces...

Also...

I plan to assemble the inner 18" oval using an Atlas train set (Atlas Trainman HO 0035 Train Set). I plan on running the BNSF train on the 22" radius oval and a single trolley car on the 18" radius inner oval.

Given the above, will the transformer - powerpack included in the set run both sets of tracks, or should I order a second transformer?

Any help and tips would be greatly appreciated!!!!

Thanks
jack

No radius will complete a true oval if it is a 'true' N. American style turnout. A snap switch might work because it has a curved diverging route as do the British style turnouts and their models, the older style Pecos. Except for snap track and snap switches, such as the #4, you will have to resort to what is known as a curved turnout...both routes curved, but the diverging route curves more tightly. Generally they are not great in tighter radius circumstances, but they work very well with radii larger than about 26". The reason they don't work well with smaller radii is that the inner route turns into something almost ridiculous like 15" radius or worse.