N or HO?

SDJeff

Texas Railfan
I haven't had a layout since 2007 when I moved from my apartment to my house. Sounds backwards huh? Well no since my fiancée moved in. I had a HO scale 4'x8' layout, nothing special. I do have quite a bit of rolling stock and locos - no DCC.

The problem is lack of room. I have a 3 bedroom house, one bedroom is mine, one is hers, and the other I took over for my office. I'm an civil engineer and I play guitar so the bedroom has books shelves, a used library file cabinet from the university, amps, and a big desk. So I've taken up my share of real estate in the house.

I've seen some n scale layouts and I'm impressed. I still like the size of the HO scale. I'm going to be 42 this month and my near side eyesight is already going, so working with details on the smaller scale will be even more difficult. My thinking is if I did start a N Scale layout I would pretty much buy the ready to roll and assembled structures.

In this case size matters and the smaller the better. I'm just not sure if I want to start over with investing in a different scale. I know if I don't go n scale I won't have a layout until I get a big house or someone moves out :rolleyes:

If I do go N scale, I'd only buy a few engines (yeah right huh?) and go DCC.

Any words of wisdom?

Jeff

I dont know how familiar with N scale you are, but i bought some stuff planning on making the switch from HO to N, and i was actually pretty impressed with the detail.

This seems like the perfect reason to go to N scale. People move to N scale to save on space, which sounds like a perfect fit for this situation. A 4x8 layout in N scale has lots of oppurtunity, in HO, you are really pressed for space and with what you can do.

If your that worried about your eyesight, then there are solutions. Several companies make magnifying glasses for workbenches and even wearable ones to solve that problem.