MTH 2-8-0 Won't Run At Home (Sounds and Steam Working)

I picked up a MTH Rail King Rugged Rails Series Great Northern 2-8-0 from the LHS this afternoon. Along with it, I picked up an MTH Z-750 controller, some track, and a K-Line Universal Lockon. The track is a bit old and needs a good cleaning, but hey, it was thrown in with the deal.

The shop owner put it on his setup rig using a Z-750 for power, and it ran great. However, after getting it home and putting it on the track, all I can get it to do is blow steam, blow the whistle, and go through the "startup" sounds.

After figuring out how to put the Lockon in place (there were no instructions included, and I've never used O gauge before), I've got the 2 clips (positive lead connected to this one) on the center rail and the single clip (negative lead connected to this one) touching the inside rail.

Could my problem be the track? I picked up a track cleaning eraser to clean it up a bit, but haven't gotten much time since to go through the track to clean it up. Or is my problem elsewhere?

Thanks in advance,
Shannon

Not being a O gauger may i ask is there a set of power cables between the engine and tender? We've found on h.o sound equipted models that many times if we do not make sure the plug/plugs are fully seated,sound will come on but there's not movement.

It is plugged in all the way, and in the correct orientation. There's also only one way that it can be plugged in. That was one of the first things I checked.