It just stopped going. Newbie troubleshooting help please.

Sampson

Hello all,

I am very new to model railroading. I received a free MTH RailKing Harley-Davidson O Scale set. It worked great for the first 5-10 operations to my 3-year-old son's delight, and then it stopped working. I've cleaned and tested the track - 14.6 volts and continuity all the way around the simple oval. I've disassembled the engine and found continuity EXCEPT all the way from the pickups to the engine. There is continuity from the green printed wiring board to the engine, and there is continuity from the pickups to the green printed wiring board, but not all the way from the pickups, through the green PWB, to the engine. I think, and I really am an electrical novice, that the interruption is at the 10-pin printed wiring board that connects power to all areas - sounds, lights, engine. I temporarily rigged some power from a 9-volt battery directly to the engine - that works. But if I rig the same power from the pickup rollers (forgive my terminology) to the engine, no dice.

Being a newbie, I checked to see how much it would cost to just buy a new engine - I was floored - $899.99. That's not going to happen. Does anyone know a way to make sure I have correctly diagnosed the trouble spot as the little green printed wiring board? And if so, what do I do now?

Thanks for any thoughts,
Sampson
Wisconsin

Sounds like you narrowed it down to the PWB allright.
Have you looked into the cost of a replacement board?
Failing that I believe sending it to MTH might be the asnswer.
I'm sure someone here has experience with these, could be a simple fix if you know what to do...

Are there any copper traces on the board that look burnt or broken? It may be a matter of going over the whole board wiuth a mag glass or a good loupe to see if something has burnt out.

Mark

I appreciate the quick advice - thank you.