HELP!! Rolling stock problem caught on video

csxgandn

[video=youtube_share;JFghMKry-p4]https://youtu.be/JFghMKry-p4[/video]

In the video you will see the wheels come up off the rails. I'm not sure why this is happening. It only happens with these two boxcars and only when they are directly behind the locomotive (not when another car is between them and the loco). I thought it may be that the frog was too high so I filed it down and swapped out the turnout entirely but the problem persists. As far as I can tell this is the only place on the layout where it happens.

Anyone have any ideas what's going on. I'm just a beginner (as this post may have demonstrated) so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

The coupler on the locomotive is too short, and it's dragging the car up and sometimes off the rails because there isn't enough pivotal motion in the coupler. You will need to use larger turnouts or longer couplers.

Thanks. I never would have thought of that. Is that why it only happens with these cars, which have longer couplers than the loco or my other cars?

Also, could I put shorter couplers on the boxcars?

Thanks

Thanks. I never would have thought of that. Is that why it only happens with these cars, which have longer couplers than the loco or my other cars?

Also, could I put shorter couplers on the boxcars?

Thanks
Shorter couplers will make the problem worse. They need to be long enough to pivot for the reverse curve in the turnout.

Thanks. I'm in the beginning stages of building my layout and only have four cars. I planned to change all the couplers to Kadee (as it seems like the standard) at some point. I'm assuming they have something that will solve this problem.

Thanks. I'll try to get to the hobby store soon and see what they have!

Thanks, Willie. The coupler heights couldn't be any better to my eye so I'll do some research on the couplers you mentioned (thanks for the link).