Ground cover

RonP

Ok might as well add this here to as I think it is a great contribution to any site.

Ok this isn't a question it is an answer. Ok we made the ground cover with Sawdust. We used acrylic and water and a coffee can. Detailed instructions in the link. however for those that don't want to go it is terribly easy and I could not seem to screw it up.

Full article here
Link has been updated

Last edited by a moderator:
looks very good too( thumb up!)...sawdust???and painted with deluted( white spirit) alkydepaint?
That is the way I make my "leaves"for the trees I make..( from MDF)

Jos

I've been using sawdust for about 15 years. Grass, ballast, leaves, dirt. soil,
roads, roofs, walls, etc. Only I put mine in a large glass jar & add the paint & let it sit for about a week. Then I dump it out on thick newspapers & let it dry for about a week. I've got about 5 diff. colors of sawdust stored in plastic containers for future use.

Larry

this appears to be working great:
S6300014-1.jpg

I deviated from the exact process a little using a paper towel to steep, or strain the excess paint-water.

i got 2 big garbage bags of sawdust from home depot for my favorite price....free. so i have a lot more than i will need but enough to experiment with.

Fantastic, Now before you put it on you layout test it out. I have found it reacts slightly with glue on my first few tries and needed to do things differantly then with normal foam. What i do is put down a light coat of watery glue first then put on the cover. this makes it so it isn't so, well you will see what i am talking about give me your thoughts after you are ready and we can both figure a perfect solution.

It soaks up the glue is what i mean, so thats where the problem lies.

thanks ron. i was going to ask a similar question but didnt want to sound too, well, green (no pun intended). i was going to go with a light mix of water and regular elmers. but i wanted to know two things: