Grain Hopper

aburns11

Hey, I was wondering where or how best to find some covered grain hoppers for N scale. I keep looking around but it seems all I can find are meant for plastics, or are plastic hoppers ever used in the grain industry? Anyways, any help would be great!

Thanks a lot!

Thanks, that's an excellent website! Just out of curiosity though, are plastic hoppers ever used for grain in the industry, or not. Also, are there any site with more information about the grain industry and modeling it? I'm pretty new to modeling and would like to start by modeling a small grain operation.

I'm sure I'll be corrected if I'm wrong but plastics are usually of a larger cubic capacity. The grain is heavier and would max out on weight before cubes. That would be a waste of volume and tare weight. I believe the largest grain hoppers are of the 5160 Trinity type. 4000, 4427, 4650, and 4740 seem to be the most common for grain for what I know.

Jim will likely straighten us both out.

LOL, don't I wish I was that all-knowing. :) However, Mac is basically right. There are small medium, and jumbo hoppers. Small hoppers carry the highest density loads like cement and potash and often have pressure differential shells to aid unloading since the cargo is sticky. Medium hoppers are most often seen in grain service but we're talking about newly harvested "green" grain. This is still a fairly dense load but not as heavy as cement. Some of the same type of cars carry plastic pellets but the loading and discharge chutes are different. The jumbo hoppers usually carry plastic pellets and distillers’ dried grains (DDG), which is used for ethanol production. These are the least dense loads so a larger cubic capacity car can be used and still stay within plate and tare limits.