Decoder Installation Question

beiland

I'm pretty new to this decoder installation subject, and I have a particular installation problem.

I'm removing the decoder/electronics board from a BLI F7 loco that developed zinc pest, and hoping to install it into an Intermountain F7 chassis. The problem that has arisen is that a number of those wire connectors that plug into the mother board (circled on the photos) are just slightly too tall to fit under the shell, Can they be replaced by a different type connector, OR solder directly to the board?

1711312807809.png

DSCF0195.jpg

DSCF0196.jpg

DSCF0200.jpg

DSCF0199.jpg

The problem that has arisen is that a number of those wire connectors that plug into the mother board (circled on the photos) are just slightly too tall to fit under the shell, Can they be replaced by a different type connector, OR solder directly to the board?
You could try to pull the plugs and see if just the socket will fit. If so perhaps solder the wire directly to the sockets pings, or cut the socket casing lower.

But more so, I think I would desolder the too tall sockets and use their holes to solder the wires directly to the board.

The response you received on the MRH forum is basically correct.

Connectors are JST type. There are a myriad of different size JST connectors (especially with the advent of drones and other battery powered gizmos), and you probably won't be able to find another connector with the same pin width but reduced height. If you have a store nearby that specializes in RC or drones, you can try taking the board in there and seeing if they have something that fits, but I wouldn't bet on it.

You could pull the sockets completely off and try soldering directly to the board, but that may be difficult depending on exactly how the sockets are attached to the board. That may require some very fine electronic soldering, probably risky if you don't have much DCC experience.